By Jon Egie


leaders during the displaying placards during the even

Ex-militants on the aegis of Coalition of Urhobo Agitators have added voice to the call for immediate sack of Senator Godswill Akpabio as Minister of Niger Delta ministry and the dissolution of the Interim Management Committee (IMC) of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC).

They also called for a  probe of the Niger Delta ministry under the supervision of Godswill Akpabio.

The group in a statement issued on Saturday, July 25 during a press conference held in Ughelli said it was glaring that Akpabio masterminded the huge corruption unearthed during the probe of the NDDC by a committee of the National Assembly and was convinced that the continued presence of Akpabio in the Niger Delta ministry spells doom and despair for the impoverished people of the region.

“Therefore, we call on the federal government to without delay, terminate the appointment of Godswill Akpabio as Minister of Niger Delta ministry, probe the activities of Godswill Akpabio in his capacity as Minister of Niger Delta ministry to be sure he has not contaminated the ministry with the NDDC virus.

“We call on the federal government to dissolve the Interim Management Committee (IMC) of the NDDC and inaugurate a legally constituted board. All those who are found culpable in the NDDC probe should be prosecuted and serve as deterrent to others.”

The group noted that since its inception of the Amnesty programme all four coordinators of the programme from the Ijaw nation have failed to deliver and hence made case for the appointment of an Urhobo man as substantive coordinator of the programme since the Urhobo have been marginalized in appointment and employment opportunities in the NDDC.

“We are convinced that President Buhari means well for the development of the Niger Delta region but for the sabotage of our leaders and we shall no longer tolerate that. We are ready to mobilize 2,200 ex-militants to Abuja to enforce our demand for the sack of Akpabio”. The group said a statement signed by Abraham Ekokotu (National Coordinator), Ikpuru Moses (Secretary) and Igidigi Paradise Gowon (PRO) said.