By Jon Egie



Executive members of Ughelli North Unity group shortly after the meeting in Ughelli.

Ughelli North Unity Group, a political pressure group under the PDP in Delta state has endorsed Governor Ifeanyi Okowa for re-election into a second term in office.

The endorsement was given, Tuesday, Feb 19 during an Executive meeting of the group which held in Ughelli.

A Communiqué issued at the end of the meeting and signed by Hon Akise Jowho (Chairman) and Mr Burutu Patrick (Secretary) said the decision of the group to endorse Gov Okowa is based on its conviction that Dr Ifeanyi Okowa will do better than he has done in his first term in office as governor of Delta state.

The group hold that it was fair to respect the political zoning arrangement of rotation of power among the three senatorial districts of Delta state for the purpose of equity and therefore, added voice to protagonists of power rotation and finds Dr Ifeanyi Okowa a necessary beneficiary of the political arrangement put in place by the PDP in Delta state.

They lauded the development strides of Gov Okowa in his first tenure as governor of Delta state in the areas of infrastructure and ability to steer the economy of the state even in critical times of limited resources.

The group urged all Urhobo people and believers of truth and equity to join hands in the support and re-election of Gov Okowa come March 9, 2019.

They also extended the endorsement to all candidates of the PDP in the National Assembly election and the state house of assembly election namely: Barr Evelyn Oboro (Senate), Barr Samuel Mariere (House of Reps), Hon Eric Oharisi (DTHA, Ughelli 11) and Hon Kenneth Ibru (DTHA, Ughelli 1) and promised to mobilize its large membership across the seven clans of Ughelli North LGA to vote Gove Okowa and all the PDPD candidates.

Present at the Exco meeting were: Chief Joe Onakpoma (Cordinator –Orogun), Mr Okpidama Godwin (Coordinator-Uwheru), Mr Friday Umukoro (Director of mobilization), Alhaji Asakpa (Asst youth leader), Madam Blacky Okeoghene (Women leader) and Mrs Emily Edafe (Treasurer).