By Jon Egie



Chief Barr Andy Kayom Osawota

Chief Barr Andy Kayom Osawota

The leadership of Urhobo Progress Union (UPU) has been advised to exercise some restraint and apply high level of diplomacy in its involvement in partisan politics.


Former Secretary to DESOPADEC, Chief Barr. Andy Kayoma Osawota gave the advice during the occasion of the inauguration of the executive committee of Orogun Unity Group, Sunday, Jan 18 in Ughelli.


Chief Osawota aka Ogba of Orogun and who was special guest of honour at the event said it was high time Urhobo people handled their affairs carefully.


He said recently the polity has been charged and people from various ethnic nations are exercising their political interest. But he recommended that Urhoho Political interest should be geared towards building bridges across the ethnic groups in Delta State to give others the benefit of rotational chart so that when the opportunity comes the Urhobo could get unfettered support from other ethnic nations.



Mr Joseph Ovie Onakpoma givng his welcome speech at the occasion

Mr Joseph Ovie Onakpoma givng his welcome speech at the occasion

“Without prejudice to the fact that Urhobo is the most populous ethnic nation in Delta State we must accommodate others and such embrace would foreclose the struggle for power among the ethnic groups in the State. We must remember the Uvwiamuge Declaration that states that if we cannot be king we should be king makers.”


He urged the Urhobo people to vote enmasse for Senator Ifeanyi Okowa in the February governorship election saying that Okowa who is the governor in waiting is a good friend of the Urhobo people.


“He has embraced the Urhobo people and he will do everything that a good leader would do for the Urhobo people because a good friend is better than a bad brother”.


Later, the chairman of the Orogun Unity Group, Hon. Onakpoma Ovie Joseph in an address said the group was formed to unite the Orogun people politically.


He said membership of the group is drawn from all communities in Orogun clan and are bounded by the spirit of love and oneness.



Members of Orogun Unity Group Executive being inaugurated

Members of Orogun Unity Group Executive being inaugurated

He paid tribute to past leaders of Orogun in the persons of late Chief Demas Akpore, Chief Isaac Ighovoja, Chief Michael Akporugo; all of blessed memory during whose era Orogun was known for its political unity that produced the ‘Sokoto vote’ that determined the political direction of Ughelli North LGA and prayed that the group would be able to restore the political glory of the Orogun people.


He particularly appreciated the efforts of Comrade Gabriel Akpude, Mr. Benson Onovughe, Hon. Chief Alex Ewubare, Mr. Williams Ovbije, Hon. Demas Ohare Nico and Evangelist Becky Idediemise in propagating the gospel of unity among Orogun indigenes.


He specially paid kudos to Chief Andy Kayoma Osawota and Chief Pius Ovbije (POC) for their moral and financial support to the group.


Others who enjoyed the goodwill of the group are: Chief Jones Esombi, Chief John Iwemah, Ambassador Ekewenu Karo, Bishop Johnson Ojakovo, Chief Oviri Uto, Elder Peter Otikpo and Chief Eghele.


Those who were inaugurated include: Hon. Onakpoma Joseph (Chairman), Hon. Chief Emubare Alex (Vice chairman), Hon. Ohrereh Demas (Secretary), Comr. Akpude Gabriel (Treasurer), Mr. Onovughe Benson (P.R.O), Hon. Chief Abu Peter (Youth leader), Evang. Becky Idiebise (Woman Leader), Mr. Ovidje William (Assistant Secretary), Mr. Edjobe Matthew (Organising Sec.), Comr. Omin Friday (Fin. Secretary), Hon. Barr. Etinagdia Goodluck (Legal Adviser), Comr. Agwa Sunday (Auditor General), Mr. Onowata Samson (Welfare officer), Mr. Eddy Agambi (Asst Youth Leader), Madam Regina Obaro (Asst Women Leader), Mr. Edevwie Monday (Ex-officio), Mr. Emoghene Felix (Ex-officio), Mr. Idiovwa James (Ex-officio), Mrs. Umude Vivian (Ex-officio) and Mrs. Isoko Alice (Ex-officio).