…as Egie takes over

By Gabriel Awodeha and Freedom Okpubeku


State Council Executives, Oyowe, Ogono and Celestine congratulate newly elected Chairman of Ughelli Chapel, Comrade Jon Egie supported by the elder of the chapel, Comrade Vincent Ogbunisi beaming smile.

Ughelli Correspondent Chapel of the Nigerian Union of Journalist (NUJ), Delta State, Thursday, April 11, 2019 elected new Executive to pilot it’s affairs for the next three years.

The election which saw incumbent Chairman, Polycarp Oresewotu losing his position to first timer, Comrade Jon Egie, was the first ever balloted elections since the creation of the chapel.

Before now, the chapel has never gone into balloting but has always adopted a consensus method of selecting its executives.

The newly elected executives (L-R) Egie, Ogbagah, Awodeha, Omamuzo, Monica and Ukane taking oath of office.

However, following refusal from the aspirants contesting the positions of Chairman and Secretary to step down their ambition after much persuasion from a four man committee set up by concerned stakeholders of the chapel at the auspices of its pioneer chairman, Comrade Sir Festus Ahon, to harmonize various interests, the position for chairman and secretary was then placed on the ballot.

Jon Egie defeated the out gone chairman, Polycarp Oresewotu by just one vote polling 12 of the total 23 votes cast, while Matthias Ogbagha defeated out gone Treasurer, Kofa Kings to retain his Secretary position with a margin of eleven votes scoring 17 votes against his opponent who polled 6 votes.


State Council delegation in a group photo with the new Executive of Ughelli Chapel

State Secretary of the Union, Comrade Churchill Oyowe who led a three man- team of State Executive to conduct the election, urged the newly elected members to run an inclusive government.

Oyowe while swearing in the new executive charged the new leadership of the Chapel to make effort at redeeming the image of journalists before the public stressing professional reportage and charged them to stop beggarly attitude.

“As a union, we should live in harmony as brothers and sisters to carry everybody along”. Oyovwe said.

Those elected include, Jon Egie (Chairman), Matthias Ogbagha (Secretary), Oghenekaro Awodeha (Assistant Secretary), Mamuzo Efedihre (Treasurer), Monica Ogbaudu (Financial Secretary) and Godwin Ukane (Auditor).

In his acceptance speech, Comrade Egie assured the union that he would carry everyone along in his administration.

According to him, “I will do all that is necessary to carry everybody along, I will be loyal to the constitution of the union, the State Council and to members of my chapel” and sought the cooperation all.