By Freedom Okpubeku


Polycarp Orosevwotu

Polycarp Orosevwotu

The Correspondents Chapel of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Ughelli,Tuesday June 16, 2015 inauguared the new members of the executive council which is expected to run the affairs of the chapter for the next three years.


The inaugation which took place at Epini Hotels, Ughelli, brought to an end the tenure of the Comrade Festus Ahon led executive council which was said to have led the chapter since its inception about ten years ago.


In a valedictory speech, the out-going chairman of the Ughelli Chapter, Comrade Festus Ahon, expressed happiness over the progress the Chapter had so far made. He noted that when he, Comrade Vincent Ogbunusi and one other person started the Chapter, they faced so many hurdles until they eventually registered with the state chapter at Asaba. He advised the new exco to guide against disunity and rumour-mongering in orrder to move the union forward.


In the same vein, the Chairman of the 2015 election committee, Comrade Vincent Igbunusi, sued for cooperation and advised the new exco to carry everybody along in the scheme of things.


Speaking on behalf of the new exco members, the chairman, Comrade Polycarp Orosevwotu, expressed gratitude for their election. He expressed optimism that he would not have difficulty in his administration because of the wealth of experience he had gathered from his predecessor’s administration, adding that he would operate an open administration but that he would not tolerate gossip.


Earlier, the Vice-Chairman of the state NUJ, Comrade Felix Igbekoyi, stressed the need for members to work more professionally for the promotion of the union. Igbekoyi who coordinated the inauguration ceremony also charged the Ughelli Chapter to always maintain close contact with the state headquarters of the union at Asaba. On his part, the state Financial Secretary, Comrade Afokobah Celestine, who was part of the Asaba delegation also urged them to work in the interest of the union.


The newly elected executive members are: Polycarp Orosevwotu of The Nation newspaper, Chairman; Blessed Hossana of The Urhobo Voice, Vice-Chairman; Ogbagah Matthias of The Rainbow, Secretary; Perez Brisibe of Vanguard, Assistant Secretary; Kofa Kings ofThe Sun, Treasurer; and Ukane Godwin of The Urhobo Voice, Financial Secretary.