By: Jon Egie


A socio-political group, the Urhobo Strategic Group (USG) has adopted Mallam Nuhu Ribadu, Obarisi Ovie Omo-Agege of the ACN as their candidates of choice for the April elections into the office of President of Nigeria and Governor of Delta State respectively.

The group also adopted Prof. Adego Eferakeya, Mr. Emmanuel Esievo and Chief Sunny Onos Ejeremedoghene all, also of the ACN as Senator for Delta Central, MP Ethiope federal constituency and member Ethiope constituency in the Delta State House of Assembly respectively.

In a press briefing held at Siokolo, March 22, the group said the PDP led government has failed woefully in the administration of the country at all levels and hence cannot enjoy the support of the group in any way as far as the 2011 general election in concerned.

“We shall support candidates that can partner with us from the campaigns until the results are announced. Such candidates should belong to political parties that have credible leadership and people – oriented programmes.

“We discourage the Urhobo nation from supporting political parties that begin with one man and end with one man thereby depriving the Urhobo of national relevance, for instance, the DPP.”

They promised to work vigorously and assiduously to deliver the choice candidates during the April election.