* Extol his Philanthropy

By Henrietta Abavo, Benin


Osakwe presenting the birthday card to the Esama of Benin

The Chairman, Sir Roland Osakwe led cabinet of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Edo State Council accompanied by members, on Wednesday last week joined numerous well wishers to felicitate with the Esama of Benin Kingdom, Sir (Chief) Gabriel Osawaru Igbinedion, as he clocked 86 year old.

Speaking at the Palatial Garden of the Honourary Romania Consul to Edo and Delta States, Osakue described the Esama as a rare gift to humanity.

He saluted Igbinedion for his high sense of patriotism, love for humanity and dedication to helping the poor and underprivileged, asserting; “there is no second person that can be compared to the Esama on planet Earth”.

Describing the Esama as a serial entrepreneur who finds joy in investing in sectors that directly impact on the livelihood of Nigerians which include education, health and the media, the NUJ Chairman noted that his contributions were invaluable to the nation’s growth and development.

Comrade Osakue added  that Igbinedion’s active role in the Nigeria’s business space has continued to inspire many younger people to start-up companies that have helped to bolster the economy.

His contributions to national development would remain appreciated, Osakue said.

He prayed God Almighty to grant the Esama good health, strength and longevity of life to continue impacting humanity.

Responding, Chief Igbinedion commended members of the State NUJ for identifying with him as ever, and promised to continue to impact on the socio-economic well-being of the people.

Noting that the Comrade Osakue administration has brought unprecedented development to the Union, the Esama thanked members of the pen profession for their objectivism, accuracy, balanced and unbiased reportage.

High point of the visit was the presentation of a large sized 86-year-old birthday card to the celebrant by the State NUJ Chairman, on behalf of the Union.

Osakue was accompanied by former Chairman of the Union, Deacon Raph Okhiria, State Secretary, Comrade Titus Akhigbe, Hameed Braimai, Osaretin Emokpai, Kingsley Abavo, Jethro Ibileke and other members of the Union.