By Jon Egie


Delta stae Commissioner of Trade and Investments, Hon Chika Ossai speaking during the occasion.

Governor Okowa has said that the Delta state government is not so optimistic about the ability of Social Exchange Market Certified Chairmen Association (SEMCCA) to provide grant for empowerment that would help and assist in creating industries and reviving old ones to reduce unemployment among youths in the state.

The governor who was represented by the Commissioner  of Trade and Investments, Hon Chika Ossai made the remark while fielding questions from journalists during the occasion of the inauguration of SEMCCA executives, Delta state chapter; Friday, Oct 11 in Ughelli.

He said although the state government was ready to partner with all genuine investors and NGOs who are ready to make positive impact on the economic life of Deltans but the state government would be keen to observe as the program unfolds, to see what it has for Deltans and if it is positive, would partner with them.

“I have just come to witness the ceremony, I will look at what they said they could do, digest it but I don’t have details about them yet. I will take time to study the programme but as gentlemen I believe what they said might be genuine.”

SEMCCA is a group of certified chairmen in the Social Exchange Market (SEM). The body is made up of volunteers who mediate over controversies that exist among the management structure of SEM and its prospective beneficiaries of funds supposedly expected to be provided by international donors in line with the United Nation’s Agenda 2030 of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGS).

Chairman of SEMCCA in Delta state, Comrade Efe Agarry described SEM’s Country Director, Barr Donald Olorunkeyede as a man with foresight, patriotic and selfless in his determination in ensuring that the poor masses in Nigeria benefit from the international grant.

Among those who took oath of office during the inauguration ceremony were: Efe Agarry (Chairman), Figbele John (Deputy C/M), Mrs Erhenede Patience (Secretary), Mrs Monica Emosairue (Treasurer), Mrs Ikenga Rhoda (Asst Secretary), Adiela Macaulay Maduba (Director of social).

Others were: Moses Eduviere (Financial Secretary), Godfrey Akogben (PRO), Achudume Davies (CSO/Provost), Dr Mrs Ogbe Mercy (Special Adviser), Prof Ifeanyi Ahuchosu (Special Adviser) and Chief Patrick Akporode (Special Adviser)