By Jon Egie



Amb Oke Idawene addressing members of the party during the meeting in Asaba.

Amb Oke Idawene addressing members of the party during the meeting in Asaba.

Arrow heads, chieftains and stalwarts of PDP and APC in Delta State are perfecting plans to move to the Social Democratic Party (SDP) ahead of the 2019 general elections.

This was disclosed by the Delta State SDP Chairman, Amb Oke Idawene during an enlarged exco meeting of the party held at the SDP secretariat, Asaba; Wednesday, March 7.

He reported the recent epochal meeting between national leaders of the SDP and some Board of Trustees members of the PDP leading to the adoption of the SDP as the Third Force to save Nigeria from collapse.

Tagging the meeting Operation Take over Nigeria and Delta State, Amb Idawene said that the failure of PDP and APC to steer the ship of State aright has engendered Nigerians and indeed, Deltans to joyfully embrace the new political order using the SDP as a platform.

He encouraged members and leaders of the SDP in Delta State to be committed and firm in their loyalty to the party “because in 2019 SDP will take over the leadership of Nigeria” he assured adding that it was based on this reality that arrow heads, chieftains and stalwarts of the PDP and APC are rehearsing to jump cut.

He extended open arms to welcome all the expected defectors to the SDP assuring of a level playing field, equal opportunities, rights and privileges to be enjoyed by old and new members of the party. But charged the exco to maintain their buoyancy in their various offices to avoid being submerged by the avalanche of the expected suitors.

He directed the local government chairmen to immediately commence registration of members into the 462 wards across the Delta State and cautioned members of the party in the grassroots to be obedient to their leaders and never over ride them.

“Here we do not impose people, we believe in discipline” he said and gave a marching order to go preach the gospel of the new political order in Nigeria.

The 25 LGA chairmen of the party led by  Comrade Ekpah John, State Vice chairman (Delta North), Engr Ogone Tosan (Delta South) and Dugbo Michael (Delta Central) were in attendance.